Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alumni: Databases

AUCA Library offers access to all of the following databases to its alumni on campus. Additionally the list of open access resources is a collection of databases which are available to a general public without any access restrictions.

You can find more resources at this page

EBSCO access

AUCA library provides alumni with off-campus access to the EBSCOhost databases. 

The EBSCOhost interface provides access to databases, e-journals and e-books that represent a broad range of academic subjects, including art, business, education, philosophy, political science, religion, technology and engineering, and much more. 

To receive username & password to the EBSCO and additional consultations on accessing it, please email us at library@auca.kg

Databases available on campus

Artstor

The Artstor Digital Library offers 3 million images from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.  These collections are rights-cleared for use in education, encompass a wide variety of disciplines, and are presented alongside a set of specialized tools for teaching and learning.

Cambridge Journals Online

Cambridge Journals Online offers access to a multidisciplinary collection of 384 leading journals. Cambridge Journals are recognized globally for their quality, scope and editorial integrity. Many are the leading journals in their fields and together they form one of the most valuable and comprehensive collections of research available today. Cambridge Journals Online covers a broad range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.

EBSCO

EBSCO contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook & eJournal titles that represent a broad range of academic subject matter, including art, business, education, philosophy, political science, religion, technology and engeneering, and much more. 

HINARI

The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative (HINARI) set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables low- and middle- income countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. More than 14,000 journals (in 30 different languages), more than 53,000 e-books are available to institutions and libraries benefiting many thousands of researchers.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides a full-text archive of almost 360 core scholarly journals on the Arts, Social and Natural Sciences. Complete collections of these journals, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. JSTOR consists of the several collections which span multiple subject areas such as: economy, sociology, business, finance, political sciences, mathematics, statistics, anthropology, history, demography, education, linguistics, etc.

New York Times

Articles, breaking news, blogs, multimedia and more from The New York Times.

Oxford Journals

Oxford Journals collection includes more than 240 full-text scholarly journals on humanity, social, natural, technical sciences and law.

ProQuest Academic Complete

ProQuest Academic Complete is a growing collection of more than 185 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers such as Routledge, McGraw-Hill, Cambridge University Press etc.

SAGE Journals

The SAGE Premier Journals Collection contains more than 800 titles of leading international peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, technology and medicine.

ScienceDirect

112 selected book titles published by Elsevier available via the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects covered include business & economics, mathematics, psychology, social sciences, political and environmental sciences. 

Statista

Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics and market data platforms with access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.  The platform combines economic data, consumer insights, opinion polls and demographic trends.

Taylor and Francis

Taylor & Francis journals encompasses over 1,600 peer-reviewed academic journals. Its content spans all areas of humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science & technology, and medicine.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an online scientific citation indexing service that provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references from over 10,000 high impact research journals. 

Open Access Resources

Annual Reviews 

It provides free access to 52 journals in biomedical/ life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and economics.

Brill 

It includes 59 ebooks on epidemics, containment strategies, homeschooling, distance learning and crisis research.

Cochrane 

It is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

EBSCO Faculty Select

Faculty can search 12,400+ Open Educational Resources, get links for their Learning Management System (LMS) or distribution to students.

Index of Medieval Art 

It includes images and descriptive data to complement the print index at Princeton University. 

Infobase  

It access to 7 databases: American History; Bloom's Literature; Ferguson's Career Guidance Center; Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World News Digest; Writer's Reference Center. Username: distancelearning ; Password: trial.

John Libbey Eurotext  

It includes 23 journals in Medical and Scientific Information.

Ohio State University Press  

It includes 699 OSU Press Books.

Project MUSE  

It provides free access to 15K+ books, 230+ Journals variously from 50+ Publishers.

Royal Society Publishing  

It includes 10 scientific journals.

Open Access Resources

arXiv.org
Open access archive to electronic preprints of scientific articles in mathematics, statistics, computer science and physics.

BookBoon.com 

It offers 1500 free academic e-books in 7 languages. Bookboon's textbooks are focused on specific areas, including economics, statistics, information technology, engineering and natural science.

Central Asian Journal of Water Research 

It is a bi-lingual, open-access, peer-reviewed e-Journal dedicated to all aspects of water management in the region of Central Asia.  

DOAB 

It provides open access to over 1603 academic peer-reviewed books from 54 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. 

DOAJ 

It is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas.

OpenDOAR 

It is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

Project Gutenberg 

It includes over 42,000 free audio- and e-books. These are primarily classic books (novels, poetry, short stories and drama) from authors such as Shakespeare, Dante, Arthur Conan Doyle, Lewis Carroll, etc.)